The Namibian National Assembly has 78 members with 72 elected by the largest remainder system of proportional representation with a Hare quota. The country is a single national constituency and there is no legal threshold. Lists are closed, so candidates are elected in the order in which they appear on the party list. Independent candidacies are not permitted. The remaining 6 seats are filled by presidential appointment. Namibia has used the same electoral system since the transition to independence in 1989.

The following table shows the allocation process after the 1989 election:

NA 1989 AllocationThe first step was to calculate the Hare quota: 670,830 valid votes divided by 72 seats, or 9317. Next, the votes won by each party were divided by the Hare quota to determine the number won by each party, as shown in the fourth column. The fifth column shows the number of seats awarded for full Hare quotas (i.e. the portion of the number to the left of the decimal point in the fourth column).

A total of 69 seats were distributed for full Hare quotas, so 3 seats were left. The sixth column displays the number of remainder votes not used toward full Hare quotas. The remaining three elected MPs were given to parties in descending order of remainder votes. The first remainder seat went to NNF with the second to DTA and the final elected seat to ACN.

President Sam Nujoma appointed an additional 6 MPs.