Belize utilized the single-member plurality electoral system since it first held elections with universal suffrage to the British Honduras Legislative Assembly in 1954 and continued to that system to elect the House of Representative after independence in 1981.

The size of the House and the number of constituencies have repeatedly changed. Seats have always been drawn with the boundaries of Belize’s six administrative districts.

Based on expansions in the size of the legislature of 20% or more, one can classify several different Belizean electoral systems: Belize 1 (1954-7), Belize 2 (1961-79), and Belize 3 (1984-).

For more details on boundary delimitation and the apportionment of seats to districts, see the following two publications:

The What and How of Redistricting 2004 provides an overview of the history of both the history (pp. 1-2), legal framework (pp. 2-3) and process for redistricting in Belize (pp. 3-6).

While the 2004 Delimitation Committee Report contains the recommendations for new constituency boundaries, readers may find it more valuable for its description of the legal framework (pp. 6, 16-23) and history of (pp. 10, 15-16) redistricting in Belize.

The following maps shows the constituency boundaries in place in 2008, 2012 and 2015:

BZ 2005 Country Map
Belize 2008, 2012 and 2015 Constituency Map

BZ Map LegendBelize Constituencies Map Legend

BZ 2005 Map Belize CityBelize City Constituencies in 2008, 2012 and 2015