Costa Rica

The Costa Rican Legislative Assembly (Asamblea Legislativa) elects its members by the largest remainder system of proportional representation with a Hare quota off of closed party lists.

Within each province, parties receive as many mandates as they win multiples of the provincial Hare quota–valid votes divided by the number of mandates in the province. Any seats left are awarded to parties based on remainder votes–those votes that were not already used towards a full quota–in descending order. Party lists are closed, so members gain their seats in list order.

The following table shows the apportionment of mandates to provincial constituencies:

CR Apportionment