Jamaica has elected its House of Representatives by the single-member plurality electoral system since 1944. Though Jamaica has used the same basic electoral system, the expansion in the size of Parliament and change in status from British crown colony to independent country results in the definition of multiple electoral systems:

Jamaica 1 (1944-55): 32 seats (British crown colony).

Jamaica 2 (1959-62): 45 seats (British crown colony).

Jamaica 3 (1967-): 53 seats in 1967-72, 60 seats in 1976-2007, 63 seats in 2012 (independent Jamaica).

The following table shows the apportionment of single-member constituencies to counties and parishes:

JM Apportionment

The following two maps show Jamaica’s counties and parishes.

Counties of Jamaica

JM Counties
Jamaica Parishes

JM Parishes

 2012 Constituency Maps

Clarendon Hanover Kingston Manchester Portland StAnn StCatherine StElizabeth StJames StMary StThomas Trelawny WestmorelandSources: Electoral Commission of Jamaica, Trevor Munroe and Arnold Bertram, Adult Suffrage and Political Administrations in Jamaica, 1944-2002 (Miami: Ian Randle 2006).